Material Detail

The Exemplary Novels of Cervantes

The Exemplary Novels of Cervantes

'Novelas ejemplares ("Exemplary Novels") is a series of twelve novellas that follow the model established in Italy, written by Miguel de Cervantes between 1590 and 1612. The collection was printed in Madrid in 1613 and received well in the wake of the first part of Don Quixote. Cervantes boasted in his foreword to have been the first to write novelas in the Spanish language: My genius and my inclination prompt me to this kind of writing; the more so as I consider (and with truth) that I am the first who has written novels in the Spanish language, though many have hitherto appeared among us, all of them translated from foreign authors. But these are my own, neither imitated nor stolen from anyone; my genius has engendered them, my pen has brought them forth, and they are growing up in the... Show More


  • User Rating
  • Comments
  • Learning Exercises
  • Bookmark Collections
  • Course ePortfolios
  • Accessibility Info

More about this material


Disciplines with similar materials as The Exemplary Novels of Cervantes


Log in to participate in the discussions or sign up if you are not already a MERLOT member.