Material Detail

New Music Online Library

New Music Online Library

'The Online Library is a searchable database that provides on-demand access to digital scores, sound files and biographical information on composers. Launched in 2001, the Online Library now contains data on more than 57,000 works (including 14,000 media files) by 5,600 composers. In addition to works uploaded by users the Online Library includes data from Boosey & Hawkes, Carl Fischer, C.F. Peters, G. Schirmer, & Schott Music Corporation/European American Distributors, making it one of the largest databases of new American music. The Online Library is a one-stop resource for anyone in need of information about new American music, from a conductor looking for choral works on a given theme to an ensemble searching for repertoire that fits its unusual instrumentation to a scholar studying the... Show More


  • User Rating
  • Comments
  • Learning Exercises
  • Bookmark Collections (7) Bookmark Collections
  • Course ePortfolios
  • Accessibility Info

More about this material


Log in to participate in the discussions or sign up if you are not already a MERLOT member.