Material Detail

Thomas Pynchon: A Brief Chronology

Thomas Pynchon: A Brief Chronology

A chronology of known facts concerning the life and writings of American writer Thomas Pynchon, author of the novels V., THE CRYING OF LOT 49, GRAVITY’S RAINBOW, VINELAND, and MASON & DIXON. It covers the years 1937 through 2004, and is presented in lieu of a biography, since very little is known concerning his personal life. Special attention is paid to published works and professional relationships, and to ascertaining exact and consistent dates of publications, awards, events, and appearances. The information in this brief chronology was compiled from pub¬lished sources, including THE NEW YORK TIMES, the WASHINGTON POST, various booksellers’ catalogs, and other online sources. Dates have been independently verified whenever possible. Gerald Howard’s recent article, “Pynchon From A to V,”... Show More


  • User Rating
  • Comments
  • Learning Exercises
  • Bookmark Collections
  • Course ePortfolios
  • Accessibility Info

More about this material


Log in to participate in the discussions or sign up if you are not already a MERLOT member.