Material Detail

Key Skill Assessment Unit: Information Literacy

Key Skill Assessment Unit: Information Literacy

This 9-unit online tutorial focuses on the key skill of information: to develop your critical awareness and competence in handling information and information systems. A major component of this tutorial is an eportfolio assessment of your information literacy competency.


More about this material


Log in to participate in the discussions or sign up if you are not already a MERLOT member.
Lesley Farmer
Lesley Farmer (Faculty)
6 years ago

This UK site differentiates ICT literacy (asserting it comprises technical skills) from information literacy (critical thinking, etc.). The site is designed as an online self-paced course (structured as 1 hour per week for 50 weeks), covering skills development and application in nine units. To access the interactive activities and resources, one must register for the free Creative Commons course.

Time spent reviewing site: 1 hour