Material Detail

Johnson C. Smith University (1867- )

Johnson C. Smith University (1867- )

Johnson C. Smith University (JCSU), founded on April 7, 1867, is one of the oldest predominantly African American universities in North Carolina.  The university was founded by three Presbyterian ministers, Rev. Samuel C. Alexander, Rev. Sidney S. Murkland, and Rev. Willis L. Miller and established … Read MoreJohnson C. Smith University (1867- )...

Show More


  • User Rating
  • Comments
  • Learning Exercises
  • Bookmark Collections
  • Course ePortfolios
  • Accessibility Info

More about this material


Disciplines with similar materials as Johnson C. Smith University (1867- )


Log in to participate in the discussions or sign up if you are not already a MERLOT member.