Material Detail

Competency Curriculum for Medical Careers

Competency Curriculum for Medical Careers

In order to ensure that the process of medical education more accurately reflects a commitment to graduating caring and competent physicians, Indiana University School of Medicine initiated a competency curriculum in 1999. The first class of students to enter under a four-year competency curriculum graduated in 2003. The curriculum consists of nine competencies (Effective Communication, Basic Clinical Skills, Using Science to Guide Diagnosis, Management, Therapeutics, and Prevention, Lifelong Learning, Self-Awareness, Self-Care, and Personal Growth, The Social and Community Contexts of Health Care, Moral Reasoning and Ethical Judgment, Problem-Solving, and Professionalism and Role Recognition). Assessment and certification of achievement of the nine competencies is sequentially integrated into each year of the curriculum culminating with a competency transcript upon graduation. Resources for each Competency include Criteria for Assessment, Levels of Achievement, Knowledge Base, Assessment Toolbox, and Other Resources.


More about this material


Log in to participate in the discussions or sign up if you are not already a MERLOT member.
John Feagans
John Feagans (Content Developer/Instructional Designer)
4 years ago

The link to the material appears to be broken

Used in course? Yes
Time spent reviewing site: 0