Material Detail

National Core Arts Standards

National Core Arts Standards

The development of the new arts standards (2014) reflects the oversight and collaboration among all of the key stakeholders, including a conceptual framework and matrix that is uniform across all of the arts disciplines, while reflecting the specific qualities and characteristics of each arts discipline. The 1994 Standards do not provide this level of uniformity with the primary consistency reflected in publishing all of the four disciplines (visual art, music, dance, and theater) in one publication. The context of "big ideas" positions the standards within a complete framework that also includes Philosphical Foundations, Lifelong Goals, Enduring Understandings, Essential Questions, and Model Cornerstone Assessments. Grade level standards are covered for grades PreK through by... Show More


More about this material


Log in to participate in the discussions or sign up if you are not already a MERLOT member.
Cris Guenter
Cris Guenter (Faculty)
5 years ago
Time to check out the new (2014) National Core Arts Standards. My student teachers and I have been following their development this past year. The student teachers this coming fall will be able to explore and align them with our state standards this coming fall.
Used in course? Yes